Control Facebook – Don’t Let it Control You


Facebook Security

A lot of people don’t realise that Facebook, and some other other social media platforms, automatically take your information and make it available to anybody in the world who wants to see it. By signing up and agreeing to their terms and conditions, you are complicit in this decision. This means that Facebook has the right to use all the photos you put on their site, together with any other information you choose to share. This includes your date of birth, telephone number, address and more.

A quick read of the Facebook Statement of Rights and Responsibilities  tells you that:

subject to your privacy and application settings: you grant us a non-exclusive, transferable, sub-licensable, royalty-free, worldwide license to use any IP content that you post on or in connection with Facebook (IP License).

And also a bit further down:

“When you publish content or information using the Public setting, it means that you are allowing everyone, including people off of Facebook, to access and use that information, and to associate it with you (i.e., your name and profile picture).”

This means Facebook can use pictures of you and your family playing in the paddling pool in any way they see fit… unless you specifically stop them from doing so via the Facebook privacy settings. Pictures of you and your children on holiday in Ibiza could- theoretically- be used by Facebook in a special promotion with the Ibiza tourist board in adverts and posters without your permission. In other words, you have already given them permission by agreeing to their terms and conditions when you set up the account.

Fortunately, there is a way to manage your Facebook privacy settings. Log in to your Facebook account and go to the top right hand corner. The second right icon is a button with a padlock on it; this is where the privacy shortcuts are located.

Click on it and drop down to Privacy Checkup. There is a very simple set of options for you starting with a default of PUBLIC, FRIENDS or CUSTOM. If you don’t have much time, just choose FRIENDS. This means only your friends can see your posts and pictures. If you have more time you can go through the CUSTOM settings menu, and change things to your liking. It’s easy to do, so why not do it now?

For more detailed help with your social media, you can contact me at steve@electric-design.co.uk, or give me a call on 0113 287 9900.

Share on Facebook
+1
Share on Twitter


« Back to Blog

Latest News





About Electric Design

Honest, approachable and highly personable, we aim to make our customers look good – and that’s why we put everything we’ve got into every project. We’re the friendly experts who just love having satisfied clients. And that’s why we do what we do – as it makes us feel good too.


Subscribe to this Blog


CSSDA Winner 9th Dec 2012 CSS Winner 11th Dec 2012